Far East Empire Group Crest

The Power of 9

The Group’s crest leverages on the power of nine — there are 9 main elements in the crest, and within some of these elements are influences of the number 9 as well. In the Chinese culture, 9 is considered a good number as it sounds the same as the word ‘long-lasting’. In numerology, the keys to the nature of a Life Path Number 9 individual are compassion, generosity and a humanitarian attitude. The purpose of life for those with a 9 life path is development of a philosophical nature.

The number 9 is considered lucky in China and Chinese dragons are frequently connected with it. The Chinese dragon is normally described in terms of nine attributes, and usually has 117 scales — 81 (9x9) male and 36 (9x4) female. It is also said that the Dragon has nine children, all mythical.

The 9 Colours

There are 9 colours incorporated into the crest — the 7 rainbow colours, black and grey.

  • Red: Bravery, courage, health, passion
  • Orange: Strength, endurance, harmony
  • Yellow or Gold (the royal colour in ancient China): Honour, loyalty, intellect Green:
  • Youth, hope, rebirth, growth, prosperity
  • Blue: Healing, inner peace, calmness
  • Violet: Sovereignty, royalty, justice, power
  • Indigo: Purification, illumination
  • Silver or Grey: Faith, purity
  • Black: Grief, sorrow

Far East Empire Group - The Crest

Malaccan Crest

The founder of the Far East Empire Group, Tan Bin Sin, received the title of Datuk (Knight) from Malacca. The birthplace of Malaysia’s heritage, Malacca dates back to the 15th century. The historical city of Malacca was a hub for Far East trade and was the most important port in South-East Asia. Malacca is also known as ‘Dimana Segalanya Bermula’ — place where everything began.

The state was ruled in turn by the Melaka Sultanate, the Portuguese, Dutch, British, Japanese and the British again, until Malaya gained independence. Over the centuries, numerous local warriors have left their mark on Malaysia’s history. The Malaccan crest signifies the Group’s indomitable spirit to excel and triumph.

The Ship

Laksamana Cheng Ho, also known as Admiral Cheng Ho, was the Commander of the Chinese Imperial fleet. He arrived in Malacca on the first of his seven voyages to the Indian Ocean in 1405. Laksamana Cheng Ho’s flag ‘treasure ship’ is four hundred feet long and, coincidentally, has 9 sails.

Malacca was an important base for Laksamana Cheng Ho in his expeditions to discover the World. The ship represents smooth, important and significant journeys that the Group will take for years to come.


It was believed that Laksamana Cheng Ho’s ship was the first to circumnavigate from the East to the West. It was from Malacca that the discovery of the Americas, Australia and New Zealand took place. The globe represents a harmonious unification of Oriental heritage with Western inspiration.


Supporting the Malaccan crest on the left is the Unicorn. The unicorn is a Western symbol of indomitable pride, a Christ-like connection to God and the divine. Likewise, it represents the Group’s courage, virtue and strength. The unicorn consists of 9 parts — horse’s head, neck and body, lion’s tail, slender and spiral horn, and 4 cloven goat’s hooves. Although the unicorn is a gentle creature, its horn was the weapon of the faithful and of Christ. The white-grey unicorn is a natural symbol for purity.


Supporting the Malaccan crest on the right is the Golden Dragon. The dragon is the Eastern symbol of auspicious power. This mythological symbol dates back to 3000 BC and stands for happiness, immortality, procreation, fertility and activity. The dragon also consists of 9 parts — the face of a Qilin (deer-like mythical creature that is sometimes called the Chinese unicorn), neck and body of a snake, tail of a fish, antlers of a deer and 4 sets of claws.

The Chinese imperial dragon has five toes on each foot. The dragon was the symbol for the emperor in many Chinese dynasties; the imperial throne was called the dragon throne. As such, the golden dragon represents the Group’s longstanding success and power.

Celestial Clouds

The Celestial Clouds represent the heavenly spirits and realm. It also symbolises good fortune and eternal happiness for the Group.


The lotus flower is sacred in the Hindu, Buddhist and Egyptian religions. The lotus, with its roots in earthly mud, grows upward in aspiration towards light, and its petals open in a beautiful flower. It symbolises the Group’s purity, spiritual growth and enlightenment — the religious path.

The lotus is one of the eight auspicious signs of Buddhism — the thousand-petal lotus symbolises spiritual illumination. The well-known Buddhist mantra, Om mane padme, refers to the ‘Jewel in the Lotus’ — that is, enlightenment. In Egyptian mythology, the lotus was associated with the sun. It bloomed during the day and closed by night. The lotus was even believed to have given birth to the sun.

Upper Scroll

The upper scroll features the Group’s name — Far East Empire. It is a sign that upholds the spirit of the East. It signifies the Group as a power to be reckoned with. The Far East Empire Group is all about striking a balance between social responsibility and corporate goals.

Lower Scroll

The lower scroll features the Group’s motto — Committed to Excellence. It forms a solid foundation that keeps the Group grounded while striving for excellence.